Gary Yoshimura Scholarship

Deadline: May 26, 2017

Award: $2,400

The scholarship check will be payable to the winner’s university for use on his or her behalf, and can only be used to directly fund the winner’s educational pursuits. Applicants will be notified in early April.


For this award, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be pursuing a higher education in the public relations field.
  • Have a minimum 3.0 GPA.
  • Demonstrate financial need.
  • Be a PRSSA member.


To apply for this award you need to submit the following materials:

  • A completed application form (Word or PDF).
  • A letter of recommendation from internship supervisor/employer or faculty adviser.
  • A 1,000-word essay describing a challenge you have faced, either personally or professionally, and how you have overcame it.
  • An official transcript.

Make sure all materials are error free and thoroughly proofread. All application materials must be received at PRSSA Headquarters (not just postmarked) by May 26, 2017. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.

PRSSA — Gary Yoshimura Scholarship
33 Maiden Lane, 11th Floor, New York, NY 10038

About Gary Yoshimura

Gary Yoshimura was a consummate professional. His focus on his work, his fierce determination to do his best regardless of the situation or obstacles in his path, and his team spirit will live on in this scholarship. Yoshimura spent his career trying to further, in his own way, the public relations profession by setting an example for us all. After graduating with a Master’s Degree in Public Relations from the University of Southern California, Yoshimura worked at a number of international public relations agencies including Hill and Knowlton; Manning, Selvage & Lee; Burson-Marsteller; and Stoorza, Zieghaus and Metzger, before moving into the corporate public relations ranks at Philips Electronics. Yoshimura passed away in 2000, at the age of 42, but his memory will live on through the Gary Yoshimura Scholarship.

Past Winners

  • 2015–2016 Asia Burns, Samford University
  • 2014–2015 Joanna Ventour, City College of New York
  • 2013–2014 Aparna Kumar, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2012–2013 Ariana Treviño, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • 2011–2012 Brooke M. Schwartzman, University of Florida 
  • 2010–2011 Gabriella Corriere, University of Arkansas at Little Rock 
  • 2009–2010 Therese Kuster, University of Northern Iowa
  • 2008–2009 Jemalyn Chavez, San Diego State University
  • 2007–2008 Tyrone Hall, Florida Memorial University
  • 2006–2007 Shannon Komondy, Wayne State University
  • 2005–2006 Esther Fraser, Florida Memorial University
  • 2004–2005 Teresa Oe, North Dakota State University
  • 2003–2004 Brian Winters, Michigan State University